CLARE NEWMAN - CANADA, HAIR & BEAUTY
Leave a Comment

Freshly Picked Rose Facial Toner

unnamedWhen I had my first son in 2008, I became slightly obsessive and ridiculously concerned with reading labels and recognizing known carcinogens in products I was purchasing. Almost every product I used as a consumer from my laundry detergent to my toothpaste had a recognizable chemical compound and when I found the same in products for my baby, I was outraged.

As consumers we need to vote with our dollar and purchase products with knowledge and understanding of the listed ingredients and also, to find out ingredients that are purposely not listed on packages. I have many personals opinions as well as a few conspiracy theories about big corporations and government regulations shaking hands together in the dark but my intention isn’t to lead you down the picketed lines but rather to make the healthiest and natural skin care choices for you and your children.

unnamed-4

When my daughter arrived in 2011, I started making my own products from natural bum cream to baby wash to postpartum products for myself. I began experimenting with natural butters, herbs and essential oils where I gathered a long list of successful recipes and a longer list of recipes that failed. None-the-less, I pursued training as a aromatherapist to ensure quality products for my family. In 2013, after the arrival of my third baby, I was running a small business making and launching holistic products for mom’s during pregnancy, labour & delivery, postpartum, babies and children. Mamata Holistic’s was born.

All Mamata Holistic products are free of ingredients such as alcohol, parabens, sulphates, petro-chemicals, synthetic and artificial colors or fragrances because the health and well being of my family is more important than the convenience of buying consumer products in the store.

I’m excited to share with all the cool Mama’s in the LB community a monthly blog entry filled with simple and easy skin care recipes for you to whip up for your own family. Not only will these save your family a TON of money per year, it’s also super fun! My kid’s love when my boxes of essential oils arrive as we inspect and talk about the different scents, even down to stirring and making their own products like hand soap and bath melts!

My first blog entry will be for the Mama’s!! I LOVE making my own facial skin care products and will NEVER purchase expensive skin care creams and toners again. Mostly because, and I’m sorry to inform you of this, but those claims of anti-aging creams contain foreskin and placental fragments that hospitals sell to large cosmetic companies. It’s outrageous that our genetic material is being SOLD however, the human body already holds the key to profound healing capabilities and so does our mother earth.

This is what I call “Freshly Picked Rose Facial Skin Toner” and it’s made of 5 simple ingredients. Most of which you can find in your local health food store or supplement store and takes about 3 minutes to make.

unnamed-11

Freshly Picked Rose Facial Skin Toner

1/4 cup of Rose Hydrosol

1/4 cup of Witch Hazel

1/4 cup of Distilled water

3 tsp of vegetable glycerine (optional)

10 drop of Rose Otto essential oil

You can use the above ingredients in a spray bottle to spray over the face after a wash or dab on a cotton ball to swab over the face. Either way, this facial toner is ah-mazing, here’s why!

unnamed-8

Rose hydrosols (floral waters) are produced from the by-product of steam distillation of rose essential oil. This lovely water had a light, floral scent and is suitable for all skin types. Rose hydrosol holds anti-fungal, anti-infectious, anti-inflammatory, anti-spasmodic, anti-viral, bactericidal, circulatory, decongestant and stimulating properties. It’s been used in the cosmetic industry for over 50 years and helps with balancing hormones, aging skin conditions as well as menopausal symptoms.

Witch hazel is a staple in my family. I buy the non-alcoholic distillate in the gallons because I use it in so many of my products, especially for postpartum healing or healing cuts, scratches and inflammation. It’s excellent in skin toners because of it’s anti-inflammatory properties and if you’re a busy mom who’s a bit sleep deprived, witch hazel is wonderful for puffy skin and baggy eyes. Witch hazel distillate also holds analgesic, anti-bacterial, anti-fungal, anti-septic and cooling properties to the skin. It’s wonderful to use in compressions, sitz-baths, varicose veins, hemorrhoids and brings relief to heat, pain and itching. Witch hazel is also helpful for insect and mosquito bites, cracked or blistering skin as well as in the treatment against aging 🙂

Rose Otto essential oil if of good and pure quality is one of the most expensive essential oils on the market. It should set you back a couple hundred dollars for a 5ml bottle. I only use Rose oil in my facial toners so a lot goes a long way. Rose essential oil holds anti-depressant, analgesic, anti-inflammatory, anti-septic, anti-viral, detoxifying and tonic properties. It’s especially helpful in the treatment of acne, dry, sensitive and mature, wrinkled, eczema, skin infections, inflammations and helps heal broken veins and tones skin capillaries.

Vegetable glycerine is an optional addition. Derived from plant oils, glycerine is a natural ingredient added to many skin care products as it draws moisture from the air to lubricates the skin and prevent dryness. I have extremely dry, sensitive skin and since adding vegetable glycerine to my skin creams I no longer need daily application.

Combined, this toner packs a powerful anti-inflammatory punch to the skin! It has drastically changed puffiness in my face, especially under my eyes as well, has toned the elasticity of my skin.

No one deserves to be pampered more that YOU! Enjoy sweet Mama’s!

Note: All of these ingredients have no reported side effects or precautions which makes it a great and safe toner to use for all stages of Motherhood. It’s always recommended to avoid the use of essential oils during the 1st trimester of pregnancy.


 

MamataHolisticsLogo

Shop all Mamata Holistics products here!

Instagram @mamataholistics 

 

 

Leave a Reply

