THE REVAMPED MOM UNIFORM // BLOG SERIES, THIS JUST IN
Comment 1

THE REVAMPED MOM UNIFORM | Rachel Van Blankenship

Name: Rachel Van Blankenship
Age: 31
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
# of babes: 1 (who just turned 1!)

VanBlankenship6

How would you best describe your style? Pretty relaxed! Like an “Artistic-wish-I-could-play-the-drums-bohemian-rocker-tomboy-poet-tired-mom” That’s a style right?

VanBlankenship5

Fashion icons? The women of Phoenix. I swear, every time I’m out I see a fabulously-dressed woman and take mental notes. But for visual reference – a little bit of Foriosa from Mad Max, a little Rooney Mara with some Lisbeth Salander thrown in, Singer Channy Leaneagh from the band Polica, Florence Welch, Jean Seaberg and I love the style of British singer Laura Marling. So I feel like I’m a little mix of all of those.

VanBlankenship_2

Debbie Harry or Nicole Richie? Debbie Harry, hands down! She’s edgy, but really sexy. Also, I don’t see Nicole Richie dealing with old food and boogers on her pants well. I feel like if Debbie Harry had old food and boogers on her pants, she’d act like it was there on purpose and still look fabulous.

VanBlankenship_1

What made you choose the LB piece you’re currently styling? I was breastfeeding and it has really easy access! We are weaning now, but thats a huge factor in what I was wearing. It’s also incredibly soft and comfortable and I just don’t have the patience for uncomfortable clothes anymore. I need to move and run around. I rarely wear dresses… of course in the pictures I am, but I’m a pants girl and this shirt is longer, which I love and I don’t feel like I have to pull it down or adjust it all the time. Plus, I love the saying. It makes me feel sexy, but powerful. We as mothers are all of those things.

VanBlankenship3

Top 2 picks from LBs AW15 collection? Protector.Lover.Mother Shirt and the Varsity Jacket. If I lived in a colder climate, I’d be living in the jacket. As Phoenix goes, though, we have 100 days over 100, so a short sleeved shirt is key and the black to hide said food and boogers.

VanBlankenship4

Above photos by Debbie Aldridge Instagram

A few ways you keep yourself feeling good as a mama? On my son’s first birthday, I treated myself to a Florence & the Machine concert after he went to bed. I worked really hard October 13 last year! We tend to forget ourselves and its so important to maintain the “before motherhood” parts . I try to write, craft, attend poetry readings as much my brain will let me. It doesn’t happen as often as I like, but I know they are still in me. We aren’t any good to our kids if we lose ourselves in the process. Also, take really long showers when you find the time to shower…

JackOneYear_046

What are some things that inspire you when putting together a days look? What’s clean?! Quick and comfy! I usually have Jack pulling on me as I’m trying to get ready, so I don’t have a lot of time to dig through my closet. But sometimes I go through Pinterest and Instagram before bed and get some inspiration from other ladies out there. Also, I don’t wear a ton of jewelry anymore because my son pulls on it, so I have a nice collection of studs growing.

JackOneYear_035

Any tips for mamas juggling the demands of motherhood with the desire to still be stylish? A great pant. Even the most basic shirt, if you have some killer pants, you’ll stand out. And boots. I’m a total boot girl. I also have a rule, being a designer, to not over-embellish a page, so I apply that rule to fashion as well. One neutral and one print and don’t try so hard to be matchy-matchy. Leave the house feeling comfortable in your own skin. And on the bad days, dress your kid up as cute as they can be and no one will even notice you have two different pairs of socks on.

JackOneYear_015

Want to check out more of Rachel? Visit her on Instagram

Bottom 3 photos by Jill McNamara Instagram and Website

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Stylish free-thinker?! ha, sure! | RachelVB.com

Leave a Reply

