MODERN FATHER, THIS JUST IN
Leave a Comment

MODERN FATHER | Tom Paganoni

Name: Tom Paganoni
Age: 27
Residing: Frankston South, Victoria, Australia
Occupation: Roof plumber
Married to: Liz Paganoni
Children: Ella (7), Alex (5), Anna (2)

DSC_1218

FAVORITE MUSICAL ARTIST: our favourite song at the moment is Downtown, the kids and I love nothing more than a good car singalong and dance to this. Otherwise Birds of Tokyo are one of a number of great Australian bands I enjoy.

DSC_1217

TOP 3 FAVORITE THINGS TO DO WITH YOUR KID(S): hang at the beach, bike rides and coffee dates

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONAL STYLE: out of work hours, I’m usually in training clothes or recovery clothes, coffee dates will find me in laid back clothing-shorts and tees or singlets

DSC_1216

PERSONAL THOUGHTS ON WHAT MODERN FATHERHOOD MEANS TO YOU: modern fatherhood is the breaking of traditional roles. It’s doing everything with my children that my wife, their mother, can and does. It’s ponytails, band aids, bike riding lessons, lunch boxes, school pickups, snotty noses, fevers, coffee dates, bath times and bedtime stories. No longer are children seen and not heard, they are an integral part of every day life and whilst some days bedtime can’t come soon enough, the best part of my day is the three happy faces that greet me at the door each afternoon, with sticky kisses and cuddles and much squealing.

DSC_1215

WHAT IS ONE THING YOU WANT YOUR KID(S) TO KNOW: you can achieve anything you work hard enough for. Triathlons are the perfect example of this, I started racing just 18months ago and am about to start training for my first Ironman event this time next year. Two years ago, I would never have been able to race a half ironman event but with enough hard work and dedication I now have 4 under my belt and Ella has started racing kids triathlons!

DSC_1200

HOW HAS BECOMING A FATHER CHANGED YOU: I became a father for the first time at 20 so you could say we are growing up together. Being a young dad has meant my life has been very different to everyone I grew up with, I was up at all hours changing nappies and feeding babies while most friends were out at the pub. I wouldn’t have it any other way though.

DSC_1199

WHO HAS BEEN YOUR ROLE MODEL IN YOUR LIFE: I wouldn’t say I’ve had just one. I find role models in people I learn from, in teaching and coaching roles, in athletes, in the strong women around me and from fellow parents. I think everyone has something to teach you in life.

DSC_1198

CONNECT with Tom on Instagram here

Leave a Reply

