MODERN FATHER, THIS JUST IN
Leave a Comment

MODERN FATHER | Topher DeLancy

Name: Topher DeLancy
Age: 27
Residing: San Clemente, CA
Occupation: Professional Photographer, Brand Manager at Teradek
Married to: Tiff DeLancy 
Children: 2, Nora Jane and Violet Lu

004A6569

FAVORITE MUSICAL ARTIST: This is a deep question which I could go into a 5 page dictation on, but I’ll try to keep it simple. Music has always been close to my heart. I can’t play a single instrument, but that doesn’t keep me from pretending I can play the drums or piano. I was molded by 2 bands early in high school and stick to them to this day. Its a tie for the number 1 spot. First is Coheed and Cambria, I’ve seen them live 12 times. Second is The Get Up Kids, I recently went to their 20th anniversary show at the Troubadour in LA which makes me….Old.

004A6571

TOP 3 FAVORITE THINGS TO DO WITH YOUR KID(S): We get wild together, I’ll admit that I kind of created a monster with Nora by always bugging her and rolling her around on the bed. She’s high energy like me so we go where we can be free. I love taking her to the skatepark so she can roll around with me. Disneyland is a given, we can do and be whoever we want when we go there. Nora was born in the water, it is a part of her, so naturally we try to go to the beach as much as we can. She loves to watch me surf and pretty soon we’ll get her on a board, too.

004A6573

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONAL STYLE: I’ve always been a little off on my own style wise. I’m very skinny and at the age of 14 I realized normal guy jeans just couldn’t cut it anymore. I needed a slimmer fit, but that didn’t exist yet so I decided I’m wearing girl jeans, and this was a bit before that was even a sub genre or classified under the emo group. Oh the ridicule that came, but I didn’t care. I felt good about how I looked carving my own path and owning my own look. Nowadays, it’s still skinny jeans and vans, but I sure know how to get fancy, throw on a bow tie, and go shoot a wedding.

004A6590

PERSONAL THOUGHTS ON WHAT MODERN FATHERHOOD MEANS TO YOU: I feel a big cultural shift in the world of fatherhood. Being a Modern Father to me means taking responsibility and PARTICIPATING in the lives of your children. In the past the model was, go to work come home to dinner on the table, put the kids to bed at 7, watch TV, go to bed. Where in that schedule is there time to leave an impression on your children? Our structure (what is structure??) is a bit different. Yes I go to work, but when I get home either we go get dinner together or I will even cook it, then we play or even maybe take a quick trip to Disneyland. Nora stays up until about midnight so we have hours of quality time to hang out together and just be….A family.

004A6592

WHAT IS ONE THING YOU WANT YOUR KID(S) TO KNOW: I want my kids to know that they can do whatever they want to with their life. The old structure is dead. Gone are the days where you just go to college, graduate, get a job the next day, and keep it for 30 years. That system isn’t available now, nor would I want that life for my children. Adventure, live on your own, work different jobs, nothing is beneath you. Cultivate friendships. Walk away from those that don’t bring positivity to your life. I have worked a wide range of jobs and at times listened to the wrong advice, the only time I have found happiness in work is when I follow my instincts and do what feels right in my heart even when others say it won’t work, or its too risky.

004A6597

HOW HAS BECOMING A FATHER CHANGED YOU: Right before we had Nora 3 years ago I was a different person. I owned a wakeboard school and was at the lake every day. Knowing that my first child was about to come it triggered something deep inside of me. The heaviest dose of motivation was coursing through me and all I could do was take action. I sold my boat, got rid of the school, dropped the sponsors,  and bought a camera with the sole motive of providing for this new thing called family. With our new baby Violet arriving I am going through that same transformation again, so expect great things from me. Becoming a father to my beautiful children and raising them with my amazing wife really is the best way to live a purposeful life.

004A6598

WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR ROLE MODEL IN YOUR LIFE: My whole life I’ve never known how to answer this question. There are those who have taught me a lot of valuable lessons and personal friends who I have seen the good in their values, but for the most part I’m just guided by my internal desire to be a good person!

004A6601 004A6605

004A6559

CONNECT with Topher on Instagram here

Leave a Reply

