MODERN FATHER, THIS JUST IN
Leave a Comment

MODERN FATHER | Jon Dixon

Name: Jon Dixon
Age: 29
Location: Gettysburg, PA
Occupation: Marriage & Family Therapist
Children: Liam – 6, Clara – 4

JDixon - LBJDixon- LB4

FAVORITE MUSICAL ARTIST: Hard to pick just one because I listen to so many different types of music/artists but if I could only listen to one musical artist for the rest of my life I think it would have to be Brown Bird.

JDixon - LB11

TOP 3 FAVORITE THINGS TO DO WITH YOUR KID(S): 1. Go on adventures in the community. We love trying new things or being spontaneous like scratching dinner plans and hitting the local ice cream shop instead. 2. Hanging around the house for a lazy day filled with cuddles and playtime. I commute a long way to work so I’m often gone for 10 hours or more at a time so its just nice to be home with my family for the whole day. I’m fortunate enough to have three day weekends every week to be able to do this. 3. Conversations about life. As with most, my kids are super inquisitive, especially my son, he wants to know EVERYTHING. So, its awesome just to sit and talk with them, try to answer questions they have about this wondrous world we live in.

JDixon LB9

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONAL STYLE: My personal style is always evolving. My casual style is heavily influenced by my 15 years of skateboarding. I love rocking some Vans with a simple t-shirt and a five panel hat. My professional style is influenced by my love of denim, boots and sweaters with a focus on american made products.

JDixon - LB8

JDixon - LB7

PERSONAL THOUGHTS ON WHAT MODERN FATHERHOOD MEANS TO YOU: Modern Fatherhood means active involvement in the lives of our children. It means bringing warmth, passion and encouragement into their lives. Modern Fatherhood seems to be less about being the head of the family and more about being the heart of the family. In other words, using the quality of your relationship with your children to foster growth and provide guidance.

JDixon - LB6

JDixon - LB10

WHAT IS ONE THING YOU WANT YOUR KID(S) TO KNOW: There is nothing they could possibly do that would make me love them any less.

JDixon - LB5

HOW HAS BECOMING A FATHER CHANGED YOU:  How has it not? Fatherhood has motivated me to be more positive, push the boundaries of what I thought I was capable of and create a path with my family. I know that I’ve been stuck many times in life and fatherhood (aka my children) always seems to wake me up to the possibilities in front of me, usually in the form of hugs, smiles, kisses, tickles or witty comments.

JDixon - LB3

WHO HAS BEEN YOUR ROLE MODEL IN LIFE: I don’t really know if I have a role model per say. My faith has led me to try to look at the best qualities of everyone around me and let that inspire me to become a better person. I believe everyone is capable of being a role model.

JDixon - LB2

CONNECT with Jon on Instagram here 

Photography by Earth Mark Photography
Art Co-op: Waldo’s & Company 

Leave a Reply

