THE REVAMPED MOM UNIFORM // BLOG SERIES, THIS JUST IN
Leave a Comment

THE REVAMPED MOM UNIFORM |Kate Edwards

Name: Kate Edwards
Age: 29
Location: Granada Hills, CA
# of babes: 2

lbbrand1

How would you best describe your style? Thrifted is probably the best way to describe my style. I’m a tad obsessed with thrifting, and would say 80% of my wardrobe was purchased at various thrift stores. I honestly never felt great about my style until I opened my eyes to thrifting. It allows me to wear designer and fashion forward clothing on a small budget. I love layering, texture, neutrals and mixing vintage clothing with high quality retail purchased items. I love all sorts of silhouettes, but my ‘style’ can look very different day to day depending on what kind of mood I’m in.

lbbrand2

Fashion Icons?  My fashion icons are the mamas of Instagram. Everyday I am inspired by mamas who get dressed with purpose and style, even if their day is full of hot wheels and diapers. If I were to name someone who changed mama style for me, it would be Maryam Fortuna. I discovered her blog, Milk Friendly, when I was a few months postpartum after my first little one in 2012. I was stuck in a rut of wearing nothing but nursing tanks and didn’t know what else to put on. I learned her rules for easy up, easy over, or easy under and realized my clothing didn’t have to be purchased in a maternity store to be nursing friendly.

Debbie Harry or Nicole Richie? Nicole! She takes risks but manages to still look effortlessly chic.

lbbrand3

What made you choose the LB piece you’re currently styling? The Protector. Lover. Mother. tee really speaks to me. It represents the balance I try to find in my daily life. I’m a protector when someone has something to say about my high spirited 3 year old who happens to look like he’s 5, I’m a lover because I have the most amazing (and damn sexy) husband who still gives me butterflies and every minute of every day I am a mother to these beautiful babies.

lbbrand4

Top 2 picks from LB’s AW15 collection? The PLM tee is going to get a lot of use and I’m dying to get my hands on the I Am Modern Motherhood sunnies!

lbbrand5

A few ways you keep yourself feeling good as a mama?  I wasn’t good at taking time for myself after having my first. This time around, I get my nails done every 2 weeks, and find time for little shopping trips. I also need a night out with my man at least once a month. We plan on increasing date nights as the kids get older and baby girl is more comfortable without me.

lbbrand7

What are some things that inspire you when putting together a days look? When I was little, Clueless came out and I was obsessed with Cher’s knee high socks. I wore some to school one day and was teased the whole day for it. With age I have become more confident in myself and my style. I dress how I want to, and I’m reminded of that every time I wear knee high socks. I chose the other items in my outfit because they are some of my fall/winter favorites. This black leather Gap jacket is one of my best thrift finds and goes with everything. My suede ankle booties are the perfect balance between something sexy with a little height, while also being comfy enough to wear while carrying a babe.

lbbrand8

Any tips for mamas juggling the demands of motherhood with the desire to still be stylish? Don’t think style has to be impractical or uncomfortable for a mom. I love dresses because I don’t have to find both a bottom and a top in my closet that I feel like wearing that day, which makes getting dressed easier. When in doubt, I think every woman looks sexy in a pair of great fitting jeans and a white or black t-shirt. Another thing that helps me is getting dressed, washing my face and feeling ready for the day first thing in the morning, even if we have no big plans for the day. If I don’t change out of my sweatpants by 9am, I’m tempted to stay in them the rest of the day. Which isn’t to say a day at home in comfy sweats isn’t just what we need sometimes.

lbbrand11

 

Want to check out more of Kate? Visit her on Instagram

Leave a Reply

